The Gluten-free Diet

Gluten Free

Posted: 12/12/2017

Updated: 12/12/2017

Related article: Coeliac Disease

Gluten-free” products have been seen more commonly nowadays served in restaurants and bakeries as gluten-free pizza, gluten-free cereal, gluten-free pastries and so on. Gluten is actually the special protein that makes dough elastic and gives bread its chewy texture.

 

Strict adherence to a gluten-free diet is crucial for those who suffer from coeliac disease and will also benefit those who are gluten intolerant. Cutting out gluten may seem difficult at first but fortunately, you can follow the basic guidelines provided below to enjoy a gluten-free lifestyle!

Naturally gluten-free food groups

 

Cross-Contamination

Processed products may be contaminated with gluten during manufacturing and impose an imminent risk for those sensitive to gluten. 

Dairy products

   Milk, cheese, yoghurt, sour cream and cottage cheese are safe to eat. If you have accompanying lactase deficiency secondary to damage to surface epithelial cells, then dairy products should be avoided.

 

Some yoghurts contain additives the contain gluten so make sure to check labels.

Malted milk products should be avoided (contains barley)

Some ice cream products (e.g. cookie dough) has gluten

Fats and oils

Oils are generally not a source of gluten. Canola oil, sunflower oil, coconut oil, extra virgin olive oil, hemp oil, and fish oil.

Fruit and Vegetables

All fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. Eat mineral rich vegetables such as kale, spinach, zucchini, green beans, peas, carrots, peppers, broccoli, avocados, cauliflower, and potatoes. Try a variety of new fruits – watermelon, kiwi, star fruit, pomegranate, and papayas.

Meat 

Most meats are gluten-free including beef, chicken, pork, and turkey. Beware of processed meats such as sausages, hot dogs, luncheon meats, bacon and other packaged meats. 

Fish and seafood

Enjoy wild salmon, sardines, anchovies, oysters, mussels, and others. Avoid breaded fish fillets using wheat flour-based breadcrumbs and sometimes beer in the process        

Lentils and Beans

Enjoy black beans, cannellini beans, chickpeas and so on. But check labels on soups and canned beans for flour additives            

Nuts and Seeds

These in their pure form are gluten-free.

Peanuts, cashews, almonds, pecans, walnuts, pistachios, macadamia nuts, sunflower seeds, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, flax seeds, chia seeds, hemp seeds and all other natural nuts and seeds are gluten-free.

Grains to Avoid

 

Barley

Wheat

Rye

Avoiding wheat can be challenging as it has several varieties and products go by numerous names. In addition, it is chemically made into preservatives, stabilisers and other additives.

  • Bulgur

  • Couscous

  • Cracked wheat

  • Durum

  • Einkorn

  • Emmer

  • Farina

  • Hydrolysed wheat protein

  • Kamut

  • ​​Kamut

  • Matzo/matzah

  • Semolina

  • Spelt

  • Triticale

  • Wheat Bran

  • Wheat germ

  • Wheat starch

Flour

Wheat flour is the most common flour used in baking. Gluten gives bread dough the elasticity and the types of flour are distinguished by the amount of gluten they contain. Fortunately, there are a number wheat flour substitutes out there.

  • Bromated flour

  • Durum flour

  • Enriched flour

  • Farina

  • Graham flour

  • Phosphated flour

  • Plain flour

  • Self-rising flour

  • Semolina

  • White flour

Wheat Flour

  • Almond

  • Buckwheat

  • Chickpea

  • Coconut

  • Corn

  • Millet

  • Quinoa

  • Rice

  • Sorghum

  • Tapioca

Substitute Flour

Avoid these food

 

The listed food items generally have gluten in them unless stated otherwise. Fortunately, some brands will avoid using gluten as an ingredient and these foods can be labelled as "gluten-free".

 

The FDA has set the limit of < 20 ppm gluten (equivalent to 10 ppm gliadin) in gluten-free foods for safety purposes.

Products between 21 to 100 ppm may be labelled as “very low in gluten”. 

Blue Cheese

milk inoculated with mould grown on bread that contains gluten.

Condiments

addictive ingredients may contain traces of gluten

Liquorice

made using wheat flour

Soy Sauce

may have wheat in the mix

Boullion Cubes

gluten may be used as a filler

Crackers

that are made with wheat flour

Miso

a fermented paste made from grains including wheat, barley and rye

Teriyaki Sauce

thickened with gluten-containing flours and grains.

Bread

that are made with wheat flour

Gravy

thickened with gluten-containing flours and grains.

Pasta

typically made from durum semolina wheat or whole wheat

Udon

made from wheat flour and contain gluten

Cakes

that are made with wheat flour

Hot Dogs

various grains are used in their manufacture

Seasoning Mixes

especially when two or more spices/herbs are combined together

Worcester Sauce

made with gluten-containing malt vinegar and soy sauce

Avoid malt beverages

Barley also referred to as barley malt, is the major ingredient in any kind of traditional beer. Luckily many beer manufacturers have released a variety of gluten-free beers. They are generally substituted with corn and rice. Sometimes they are made from sorghum and fruits which actually tastes quite good as well.

Malt Squash

Beer

Lager

 

Ale

Stout

Gluten-free grains

People with coeliac disease and those who are sensitive to gluten can eat whole grains. In fact, a large number of gluten-free grain choices are available from the list below. 

 

Amaranth

high in protein, calcium, iron, and fibre. Digestive benefits

Buckwheat groats/Kasha

high in B Vitamins, fibre, iron, magnesium, phosphorous & zinc

Millet

high in B vitamins, phosphorous, magnesium, and high in protein 

Quinoa

high in protein, fibre, vitamin E, magnesium, iron, phosphorous, copper and zinc.

Rice

Brown rice is highest in the B vitamins of all grains. Promotes a healthy heart.

Sorghum

high amounts of anthocyanins, fibre, B Vitamins, iron, and potassium

Teff

high in protein, calcium, iron, copper and zinc. Aids in circulation.

Oats - controversial **

Many dietitians believe that it is all right for people with coeliac disease to consume oats but only if they were manufactured in a certified gluten-free factory.

Gluten-containing non-food items

 

Surprisingly, non-food items can contain gluten and these are actually everyday items that you probably have in your house.  However, gluten is only a problem if it is ingested.

Medication

Vitamins

Orthodontic Retainers

Lip balm

Playdough

Lotion & Moisturisers

Last but not least -Gluten-free Brands!

There are now plenty of gluten-free products available in mainstream grocery stores. Here’s a list of brands that provide gluten-free products mentioned by the Coeliac UK and The Celiac Disease Foundation.

  • Angelic gluten free

  • Eat Natural

  • Fria

  • Genius

  • Juvela

  • Knorr

  • Lovemore

  • Nairn’s Oatcakes

  • Nature’s Path

  • Santa Maria

  • Schar

  • The Black Farmer

  • Wellaby’s

  • Zero Gluten Baker

  • Blue Diamond

  • Bob’s Red Mill

  • Canyon Bakehouse

  • Cream of Rice

  • Crunchmaster

  • Dole

  • Éclair Naturals

  • Enjoy Life Foods

  • Explore Cuisine

  • General Mills

  • Gluten-free Delights

  • Harvest Stone

  • Jones Dairy Farm

  • Quaker